Continuing Education Classes
Continuing Education Seminars
Continuing Education Online Courses
Continuing Education Books
CE Requirements for New Mexico
For additional information, visit:
Office of the Superintendent of Insurance
The New Mexico Insurance Code requires all resident licensees to annually complete fifteen (15) credit hours of approved courses
covering some or all of the kinds of insurance for which they are licensed.
At least one of the annual continuing education credits required must be devoted to ethics.
The compliance period each year for continuing education requirements begins on October 1st of each year and
ends on September 30th of the following year.
Courses may not be repeated within a three-year period.
All first year resident licensees are exempt from this requirement for the first reporting period licensed, unless licensed before September 16th of qualifying year.
This exemption does not apply if previously licensed as a nonresident.
Non-Residents required to fulfill a continuing education requirement in their home State are exempt from New Mexico’s requirement.
Non-Residents whose home State does not have a continuing education requirement must comply with New Mexico’s requirement.
Once an agent has completed 15 hours of an approved course, he/she should submit the "Certificate of Completion"
along with the filing fee of $1.00 per continuing education hour (capped at 15 hours). Send a check or money order for $15.00 to:
OSI Producer Licensing Division
P.O. Drawer 1269
PERA Building, Room 434
Santa Fe, NM 87504-1269
In accordance with New Mexico State Law the courses MUST have been completed by September 30th of each year.
An additional 30 days is given for the agent to file a verified statement that they completed the required amount of CE hours from Oct. 1 of each year and Sept. 30th of the following year.
The thirty-day extension is NOT to complete the required courses. Any certificates of completion received after the submission deadline for the compliance period that are received after September 30th are considered late and subject to a fee of $50.00.
Questions concerning continuing education deadlines and grace periods, should be directed to the OSI-Producer Licensing Division
by calling 505-827-4646 or email firstname.lastname@example.org.